Semester ends, monstrousness, and Ellen Datlow’s list

I kissed my last uni assessment goodbye on Friday. So I’m finished for the year, and looking forward to the next few months to reset and re-balance. I looked at my list of things I wanted to get done this year and I was amazingly naive about the impact uni would have on my life, and in particular my writing.

I forgot to post about it, but Ellen Datlow’s Best Horror of the Year 7 was announced, and while I didn’t make the ToC (not that I was expecting to) I did get a mention on her recommended reading list. “Chasing the Storm” is free to read at SQ Mag, if you haven’t already. To say I was shocked is an understatement.

I kind of lurked at the periphery of GenreCon this year, as I was 1) worried I wouldn’t get assignments finished in time and 2) a bit broke. We did manage to gather for some drinks last night and I mentioned that I didn’t particularly consider “Chasing the Storm” to be a horror story. Of course, it doesn’t really matter what the author’s intent is, if readers think it is horror then it is (and my issue wasn’t a dislike of the horror label, as I’m quite fine with other stories of mine being labelled horror). It took some reflection to realise what I worry about is people reading my story, thinking it isn’t horror (which is fine, they can think that!) and then deciding that I can’t write horror. And of course there’s this whole “women can’t write horror/sci-fi” thing that goes around and I get all :-/ about that and that’s why I feel a little anxious. So yeah, just read it without expecting it to be anything other than what it is, ok? 😉

frocto monster small

Oh and yeah, this was something I did about a month ago, but I didn’t get around to sharing. I haven’t done much with it yet though.

Leave a Reply

