Review: Day Boy by Trent Jamieson

So I read Day Boy by Trent Jamieson. I’m sure there will be far more eloquent reviews than mine, so I’m going to keep it raw and personal.

Day Boy is a vampire novel but it’s actually not really. It’s been called a coming of age story, a story about fathers and sons. The vampire context is crucial, but this is most definitely a “character-driven story”. It’s Mark’s point-of-view and Mark’s story, and everything we learn is filtered through him. We don’t get a full explanation of what has happened, just hints and glimpses that make us want to know more.

Stylistically the writing is hypnotic, establishing the cadence of Mark’s speech and thoughts from the very first sentence, and holding true to the last. There is a subtle musicality, that my restless mind resisted at first but then was drawn into. It’s been a long time since I had the attention span to read a novel, and I think the style was what made this so easy for me to sit and read. This isn’t a simple story. It packs a sizable gut punch or two or three, and isn’t easy to define. I was left rather speechless by the end, just thinking “wow”.

I loved it, and am hoping for more.

Leave a Reply

