“Proximity” in Tincture Journal Issue 6

I’m off to Continuum X tomorrow, but my story “Proximity” is now available to read in Tincture Journal Issue 6 (click on the link to buy). I believe this is my first non-speculative story to be published!

Table of Contents:

  • Editorial, by Daniel Young
  • Inferior Bedrooms, Part Six, by Meg Henry
  • The Horror of the Body, by Sam van Zweden
  • Waiting, by Tiggy Johnson
  • The Interesting People of Mount Kiliminjaro, by Stephen Koster
  • Christian Girls, by Nathanael O’Reilly
  • I Was Not Like the Other Kids, by Nathanael O’Reilly
  • Nathanael O’Reilly interviewed by Stuart Barnes
  • The Cicada Clock, by Adam Byatt
  • Spash, by Les Wicks
  • Carnival, by Beau Boudreaux
  • Rain of Ashes, by Rhys Timson
  • It’s a Marilyn Free-For-All, by John Grey
  • The Man Who Killed James Dean, by Sam Ferree
  • Back to Front, by Nathan Hondros
  • Memory, by Andrew Hutchinson
  • hail the goer, by Stu Hatton
  • i sit unfinished    in breath-, by Stu Hatton
  • A Look of Revelation, by Deborah Guzzi
  • The Favour, by Annette Siketa
  • Circles, by w.m.lewis
  • Only After School, by Anna Ryan-Punch
  • Mrs Fernandez, by Su-May Tan
  • The Happy Mule, by Frank Scozzari
  • Proximity, by S. G. Larner
  • White Noise, by Eleanor Talbot
  • It’s An Adventure If You Want It To Be, by Calista Fung

That’s a lot of excellent reading material right there!

Excerpt from “Proximity”:

 

Janice

The sounds melded into a seamless cacophony: the lunging dog’s throaty growls, Briony’s shrieks of laughter as she struggled to control him, Philip swearing and the repetitive strikes against wood as he wielded the hammer. Outside of this chaos I stood, one hand on my hip, the other shading my eyes, watching them grow smaller and smaller as the distance between us grew. I squinted up at the three grey lumps huddled in the tree and wiped the sweat from my brow. With the noise roaring in my ears I retreated to the cool of the house.

The stark white tiles in the kitchen glared at me. I pulled the goat meat from the freezer and dumped it into the sink to thaw, tensing my shoulders at the inevitable backlash from Briony. Outside the dog’s growls had turned to thunderous barks. Philip yelled, “Shut him in the garage!”

Moments later Briony tore through the house with the dog on its leash, a panting, unruly whirlwind that swept through and let the front door bang behind.

The hollow hammering thuds continued uninterrupted.

Leave a Reply

