2014 in my sights

I get the feeling 2014 will be a year of big shifts for me. I’m wandering into the year pretty blindly,  perhaps jaded by the past two years of shit, stress and exhaustion. I had big hopes for 2012 and 2013, and while some goals were attained, I stretched the limits of my capacity to deal with constant setbacks and negative happenings. I’m sure I’ve grown as a result, but in some ways I’m more fragile.

As such, I’m going gently on myself in 2014. I had lofty goals for 2013 and that’s ok, but I feel so unclear about what 2014 will look like that I don’t want to set myself up to fail.

I used to do this thing where I’d pick a word for the year. It always ended up being a bit pointless but I think I need to be mindful this year of SHIFTS. My life is a constantly shifting set of goalposts and experiences, and I need to be at peace with the fluidity and be open to change and new opportunities. That said, I do have some concrete goals for the year, and some vaguer, more open ones—both personal and writing related.

Concrete goals:

  • Write regularly, submit regularly.
  • Attend Continuum in Melbourne.
  • Participate in an obstacle course race.
  • Run 5kms unbroken.
  • Go camping.
  • Do more poetry readings (including Speedpoets as a regular thing).

Vague goals:

  • Do more art.
  • Sing more.
  • Dance more.
  • Collaborate more.
  • Enjoy life.
  • Nut out a novel that holds my attention.
  • Be more thoughtful.

Last year I wrote down a list of markets I wanted to crack… well I did crack one of them, but I’ll update the list here.

  • Midnight Echo
  • Fablecroft
  • Ticonderoga
  • Apex
  • Nightmare
  • Shimmer
  • Lightspeed
  • Fantasy & Sci fi magazine
  • Goblin Fruit
  • Cordite
  • Strange Horizons

(Some of those are poetry, some fiction—also, I could have made the list longer, but will stop there!)

So yeah, 2014, I’m looking at you. Be kind. Be fabulous. Be full of awesome.

One thought on “2014 in my sights

Leave a Reply

