2013 comes to an end. Phew.

Here is a terrible photoshopped photo of the things I was in this year.

Here is a terrible photoshopped photo of the things I was in this year.

It’s that time of year where every blogger writes up their year in review post, and I am no different. I shall dutifully look back on the wreckage of 2013, and like many others, breathe a sigh of relief that it’s over.

Gootwo1

Hooray! He’s 2! Can things start getting easier now?

What the hell happened? I so desperately hoped this would be a better year than 2012 and within the first 4 months everything went to shit. Imagine, if you will, that April marked the abyss for me and I’ve been climbing out ever since. Some of the negatives were personal, and others were writing related. So, to begin, my year in writing.

Negatives

Let’s get these out of the way first.

  • An 8 month acceptance drought that made me seriously question my writing ability and/or persistence.
  • Starting to write non-fiction (and sell it) only to have the process crash and burn.
  • I didn’t make it to Conflux.

???????????????????????????????

Ms6 wants to attack all the bad things for me.

Positives

  • “Poppies” was published in October.
  • “Banned Girl” was awarded Semi-Finalist in the Writers of the Future competition.
  • More than a handful of personalised rejections from good markets.
  • Other than “Poppies”, I sold “Life Insurance”, “Perfect Soldiers”, “Diary of a Tree-sitter”, and the poems “Fracture” and “Whisper”. Addendum: “Chasing the Storm” is also sold yay!
  • “Paradise Drowned” and “Shades of Memory” are shortlisted, as is the poem “Abyss”.
  • “Duck Creek Road” made Ticonderoga’s Year’s Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2012 recommended reading list.
  • I did my first poetry reading at SpeedPoets in November.
  • I received my very first rewrite request (update: success!).
  • I went to my first Con (GenreCon in October).
  • I met some fabulous amazing people and my world has expanded.

I have to thank Lloyd Barrett, Jodi Cleghorn, Helen Stubbs, Jason Fischer and Angela Slatter for their invaluable assistance with my writing and in keeping me sane.

nov1306

Sane like Ms9.

There were other people who helped me with my writing too, too many to list so thank you all! It’s funny looking at that list. The positives clearly outweigh the negatives, but if I hadn’t made it through those 8 long months that list wouldn’t look like that. Most of the good stuff came at the end of the year.

Other things of note:

  • I applied for a PhD. It seems I wasn’t successful in obtaining a scholarship but I’m still waiting on the results of my admissions application. I’ve pretty much resigned myself to being unsuccessful.
  • I applied for a Marten Bequest Scholarship, the getting of which would make me faint.
  • I became the Membership Officer of the Australian Horror Writers Association.
  • I started running my kids’ school library.
  • My youngest child turned 2 in December. He’s insane but we love him.
  • My middle child had her first year of school and romped it in at the end.
  • My eldest is still rocking school and made her first ever stop-motion film (by herself I might add).
  • I started running and have plans to take over the world once I am fit enough.

On a personal front things are getting better. I’m cautiously optimistic about 2014.

2 thoughts on “2013 comes to an end. Phew.

Leave a Reply

