Kickstarting the novel… for a second time

At the start of the year I had planned to smash out my novel first draft, but I lost my way, got distracted by life and short stories and gave up on it. We’re at the pointy end of the year, I’ve written 54000 words of short fiction and apart from a collaborative story I have nothing else to finish (although I *do* have ideas but I’m letting them sit for the moment).

People around me are doing NaNoWriMo and while that’s an unrealistic exercise for me (3 children to look after, one a toddler who goes through periods of not sleeping well) it has made me think I should dust off what I’ve already written and keep at it. I spent the last week editing the first 8000 words from first person into third person. Now I’m clear to write new words and it has begun. So my goal is 1000 words a day on the novel, to have 80K in 2 and a half months. I already have 11000 words written as of this moment.

I may not get a chance to do this next year (all going well) so I just have to knuckle down and do it and try not to get sidetracked by short stories. I will still indulge myself with poetry (I renamed Thursdays to the Day of Woe and Poetry so got that covered).

Excuse me while I dive into the world of Lillibeth and Dante as they try to avoid being eaten by a giant snake. Or something ;).

Leave a Reply

