Poetry at Deep Water Literary Journal

Photo by Rafa Machado Photography on Flickr

Photo by Rafa Machado Photography on Flickr

I sent in two of my poems to Deep Water Literary Journal and received an acceptance for one and a shortlisting for the other (it’s a challenge so there will be a “winner”). I had wondered if my poems were any good, and this is a bit of validation that has made me feel pretty happy.

Unlike fiction, poetry for me is often pretty personal and I like to indulge in expressive language. Because it’s not following a specific narrative structure I often struggle to see if my poetry is any good or if it’s just self-indulgent drivel. High school poetry did not help (especially after being accused of plagiarism without grounds because my teacher thought it was too advanced for a 15yr old… and it wasn’t even a particularly good poem). So this will be my first published poem (designated as a poem anyway—I could argue that “Fatigue” is a poem but I didn’t write it with poetic intent).

The issue is due out in February 2014, so will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

