Three short stories in one day

Yesterday I read three short stories that all affected me in different ways. I thought I’d share them.

The first was “Becca at the End of the World” by Shira Lipkin, published on Apex Magazine. I saw people raving about it on twitter, so, my curiosity piqued, I went to have a stickybeak.

It’s a zombie story but not really. About halfway through I thought I would be in tears by the end… but the ending caught me off guard, and my expectations weren’t met. I actually responded with anger, and it triggered an interesting discussion on morality and motherhood with some friends. The fact that I was still dwelling on the implications hours later showed me that this is a good, provoking story… even if I am pissed off with the character!

The second was also at Apex Magazine, “Grey in the Gauge of His Storm” by Damien Angelica Walters. The story comes with a trigger warning for disturbing content BUT it’s very deftly handled and the way the author has told this particular tale is quite beautiful.

The third was “Departures” by Kate Osias in Lontar #1 (I can’t link directly to the story but it is the first story in the journal). Set in Manila, again I thought I had the ending figured out but Osias sucker-punched me in the guts and this time I did almost cry.

I am yet to read the rest of Lontar, which is a new journal of South-East Asian speculative fiction, but I’ll review it once I’m done. Very exciting to see a journal encouraging South-East Asian spec fic writers!

Leave a Reply

