Review: To Spin a Darker Stair

I received this bookling for Christmas and read it in two sittings (deliberately, to space it out).It is a teeny little thing, consisting of two short stories, one by Catherynne M Valente and one by Faith Mudge.

I’m probably a bit slow but it took me a while to twig at the fairytale behind A Delicate Architecture, but once I did it left me with a most delightful feeling of satisfaction. A beautiful, well-crafted story.

I just finished Oracle’s Tower so it’s still fresh in my mind. I enjoyed the original take on Rapunzel, though I think I felt a bit let down by the ending.

The artwork is stunning and the font is quite large which makes it easy to read. It was a lovely way to sit and spend some time.

Leave a Reply

