Writing goals for 2013

After managing a fairly productive year in 2012 given the circumstances, I’m making concrete plans for developing my writing this year. Plans are structured along four themes: Writing, Networking, Editing and Markets.

Writing

  • Spend the first 6 months working on the first draft of my novel;
  • Revise and submit the stories I started in 2012 that don’t have homes;
  • Leave space for new short stories and new opportunities;
  • The Included Middle once a month;
  • Submit to Writers of the Future.

Networking / Social media

  • Make it to at least one convention (Genrecon is the easiest for me to manage—I want to get to Conflux but it may not be possible);
  • Update this blog regularly, with a mix of reviews, updates, interviews etc.;
  • Participate on twitter more (I find it difficult to sit on twitter for long, I’m more of a Facebooker really);
  • Attend at least 2 Writers Centre events (that’s pretty conservative, hopefully I’ll be able to get to more).

Editing / proofreading

  • I’m going to be actively looking for paid work in editing and proofreading this year;
  • Continue beta reading for friends;
  • Do some volunteer editing /proofreading work.

Markets I’d love to crack

  • Midnight Echo
  • Lightspeed
  • Clarkesworld
  • Aurealis
  • Ticonderoga
  • Fablecroft
  • Strange Horizons

(Yep, I aim high).

Here’s to a brilliantly wordy 2013!

One thought on “Writing goals for 2013

Leave a Reply

