2012 in Review

I don’t think I’d be exaggerating to say 2012 has been the hardest year of my life. The blissful birth of my baby boy at the end of 2011 led into a year of struggle and worry. We’ve had the range of issues from ill health, a difficult baby, challenges settling middle child at kindy, poverty, poverty and more poverty. It hasn’t been all bad: my eldest child got a scholarship for her beloved school (I had to homeschool her for a term), I picked up some work right at the end of the year which I’m hoping will continue into next year. The baby is getting easier as he gets older. And writing… well, there were ups and downs.

Positives

The writing highlights of 2012 include:

The story I think I’m most proud of publishing this year is “Regret”. I was also thrilled to have my story “Duck Creek Road” featured positively in a review.

Negatives

So many rejections. Which means I am submitting, but some of the rejections hurt more than others (I haven’t listed all of them, these are just the two that I’m saddest about).

  • “Vultures” was shortlisted for the next anthology but it was rejected.
  • “Sales and Commissions” still doesn’t have a home.
  • Lack of writing time. I’m pretty amazed at how much homeschooling ate into my writing time. I was very productive in the first 3/4 of the year, even with a tiny, fussy baby. Schooling took priority though so I ended up doing more editing than writing (which is fine, but I still have ideas).
  • Inability to attend writing events. It’s a bit wanky, but I wanted to go to things and couldn’t due to lack of money and baby.

I had a bunch of goals written down and I strayed from the path. I haven’t submitted “Perfect Soldiers” yet but am working on it. “Trellis” is still sitting on my HD. I decided not to sub to Dreaming of Djinn and Tomorrow.

I have subscribed to Duotrope and it’s a fabulous tool. I love that I can field a rejection and then send the story back out only after several minutes of research.

I have plans for next year, though they are still fermenting. I’m looking forward to saying goodbye to 2012. I’d like to give it a kick on its way out. 😉

lizard eater

4 thoughts on “2012 in Review

  1. I can’t get over the number of people who have had a shitty 2012 – let’s hope we all have a great 2013!

    I think you’ve done an amazing job – that you’ve got any writing done at all with everything that’s going on is incredible. You’re an inspiration.

    I’m so proud to have published Regret, and I hope that the publication of the anthology will get your writing out to a wider world because you deserve it.

  2. I’m so sorry about your hard year. And yes, homeschooling does eat up time AND headspace. I feel like writing and homeschooling are warring with each other over my creativity, sometimes.

    It’s great that you got so many stories out, even with the rejections. I’m terrible about booting mine out the door. I just don’t have the patience for all the research required to find markets nor the ultra-thick skin for tons of rejections.

    That, and I’m lazy about it, too.

    • I have a duotrope membership, so finding markets isn’t *too* hard. But it can feel a bit pointless at times!

      I’m determined this year will be better even though we’re already off to a rough start ;). No homeschooling this year, and hopefully paid work!

Leave a Reply

