The Next Big Thing

Jodi Cleghorn kindly tagged me last week for this meme. It’s nearing its use-by date I think, as most writers on my contacts list seem to have been tagged already! Also, feel a bit like a fraud contributing to this, but I want to psych myself up to write this damn novel.

To the interview!

What is the working title of your next book?

I haven’t really thought of a title for it. Jason Fischer, in his role as awesomely-punny mentor, challenged us to pitch some short stories to him. I said that my stories were probably more novella-length. He said I “sold” this one the best, but it sounded more like a full novel. If I was faced with coming up with a working title or being offered to Dagon, I would very quickly come up with Shadows on the River. Maybe.

Where did the idea come from for the novel?

I was tossing up ideas for an urban fantasy horror short story for the Bloodstones market. At the Byron Writers’ Festival last year we egged each other on to write more sex scenes, so set up something for NaNoWriMo. I didn’t do NaNo but I did do a couple of a sex-scene challenges. I figured I’d use it to start writing the short story, and I’d take the sex (mostly) out. As I wrote it I realised it probably wouldn’t fit with Bloodstones so I shelved it, had a baby, and concentrated on other short stories. So, that’s a long-winded way of saying I had a sex scene arrive in my head, courtesy of a very cool character, and all the elements of the story were built around that (and her)!

What genre does your book fall under?

Jason called it paranormal romance. I said it was more paranormal erotica horror. I don’t read romance, and I don’t generally read erotica, but the sex is a pretty big element so far! Horror is a key element; a lot of nasty things happen. I am rebelling at the traditional happy ending of a romance (part of the reason I don’t think this is a romance).

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Hard! I’m not really up with celebs, so for Lillibeth you’d need a strong young woman who can pull off the goth look, and for Mr Shapeshifter I’d prefer a youngish Latino actor.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Lillibeth is sick of her deadbeat boyfriend, but life gets a little too exciting when she is thrown together with a South American shapeshifter who is trying to undo a curse.

Will your novel be self-published or represented by an agency?

And this is where the meme is a bit funny for an emerging writer! No idea yet, am hoping someone will pick it up as I think I’m a little too unknown to self-publish.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

It’s not all written yet! I have slated next year as novel-writing year. I have written parts of it and there’s a LOT in my head waiting to come out. My tentative plan is to try to get it done within 6 months, but since I’m not sure what my year will look like I will revise once I figure out our routine (I have 2 kids at school next year!) I think 6 months is reasonable, I can be very productive when I put my mind to it.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I haven’t really read within the paranormal erotica genre. I suppose if I was pushed I’d say it might have a similar tone to Richard Laymon’s books… his books are definitely horror with lots of sex. I read them as an older teen/early twenty-something.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Credit to Jodi (Cleghorn), Ben (Solah), Jason (Coggins) and Tiggy (Johnson), the sex-scene instigators. Credit also to Jason (Fischer) for telling me my pitch was good!

What else about the novel might pique the reader’s interest?

There’s a shapeshifter, but he’s not a werewolf. He’s a bit unusual, and he’s from South America. Sex. Death. My main character is a complex, interesting person who isn’t just going to abandon all sense for a man.

 

I’m not going to tag anyone, it feels a little presumptuous even doing this meme, so either take this as invite to blog your Next Big Thing or it can die quietly on my blog ;).

Leave a Reply

