Deck the Halls announcement!

Hooray! Deck the Halls: festive tales of fear and cheer was the very first anthology I participated in. In December 2010 Jodi Cleghorn outlined an idea for a literary mix tape based on the lyrics of the carol “Deck the Halls”. I managed to secure a spot, with the prompt “follow me with merry measure”. I’d only been writing consistently since July that year so it was a Very Big Deal for me.

We had an insanely short deadline and the stories went live over a 24 hour period, online. They were taken down and more Literary Mix Tape projects followed (of which I’m in two more, Eighty Nine and the yet to be released Tiny Dancer). Jodi decided to release the Deck the Halls: festive tales of fear and cheer stories as an anthology as well and, after perusing my initial story, I begged to rewrite it. A year and a half can change a writer immensely!

I’ve had a bit of a look at the anthology and I’m really excited. There are a lot of great tales and I love that cover!

DECK THE HALLS traverses the joy and jeopardy of the festive season, from Yule to Mōdraniht, Summer Solstice to Years’ End. The stories journey through consternations and celebrations, past, present and future, which might be or never were.

Along the way you’ll meet troll hunters, consumer dissidents, corset-bound adventurers, a joint-toking spirit, big-hearted gangbangers, an outcast hybrid spaceship, petrol-toting politicians, mythical swingers and a boy who unwittingly controls the weather.

Heart-warming and horrifying, the collection is a merry measure of cross-genre, short fiction subverting traditional notions of the holiday season.

Deck the Halls: festive tales of fear and cheer is due for release July 10 in Australia, with pre-orders accepted from the 22nd of June. It will be released internationally in November. I’ll blog about the inspiration behind my story closer to the release date.

The table of contents can be read here.
For more information about the crowd-sourced process of Literary Mix , read here.

2 thoughts on “Deck the Halls announcement!

Leave a Reply

