Writing exercise: Switching POV

Thanks to Jodi at Write Anything for this challenge.

Step One

  • Write a one paragraph scene based on this week’s [Fiction] Friday prompt: Why did the Toothfairy fail to deliver coins one evening?
  • Ensure the scene involves at least two characters (you may choose to have more than two if you wish).
  • Write from first person or limited third person POV (point of view) so you are actually writing someone’s perspective.
  • Take no more than ten minutes to write.

Step Two

  • Take the original scene and write from the perspective of someone else present.
  • Again limit yourself to no more than a paragraph and ten minutes of writing time.

Step Three

  • Write the scene for a third time but this time, write from the perspective of someone outside of the ‘action’ in the scene, someone who has not been seen or mentioned in either of the previous paragraphs.
  • Same time and length limitations apply.

I wrote my story in one character’s point of view, then switched to the opposition, then drafted an onlooker. Here they are!

Perspective One

I tremble on the walls, fear clutching at my heart. The sound of the battering beaks deafens me, and the warders shout as they breach the fortifications. In front of me Malavi goes down, hammered by a dreadful claw. I poke aimlessly with my spear and am rewarded with a scream from a warder. I fall back and risk a glance around me. The city is swarming with dente faeries, anyone who is able is armed with tooth-tipped spears. The walls shudder and occasionally a single tooth falls with a crash as it hits the ground. I am jostled to the side and swing my attention back to the breach, as more warders push through. Confronted with the immense warder, larger than a hornet, I freeze in terror. Someone pushes me out of the way as the warder slams down with his curved claw-sword, and I shriek as Gravis is cleaved in two. The warder is wrenching his sword upwards and I dart under and shove my spear at his armoured chest. I watch in wonder as the sharpened tooth slides into his body, and he yells in pain, then totters, crashing down onto me, and there is nothingness.

Perspective Two

I stare down at the grisly gleaming white mound below me. Constructed with the stolen teeth of children, the tricksters make no payment, but bewitch the minds of human adults. We are sworn to protect the human children from the little thieves. This attack will go down in history as the tide that turned the eternal war, as our glorious leader has negotiated bird warriors to assist us.
Swooping down, I stay close to the squadron assigned to this bird. The bird gets to work pecking, and its beak makes short work of the mortared molar. As the tooth falls in, my comrades elbow for the honour of being the first to enter. It is a tight squeeze, but Berner shoves his way in, only to retreat moments later, screaming in pain. The tooth-spears are hideously effective. All around me birds are diving and my comrades attacking. Shouts and shrieks fill the air. I push my way into the breach and see the bumping mass of fangfaeries. I strike out and am rewarded with a kill. One rushes underneath me as I am recovering my sword, and stabs up. The pain is searing and I feel the power of the tooth stopping my hearts. At the very last I am comforted that my toppling body will crush the fangfaery, and then there is darkness.

Perspective Three

The mouse crouched in the grass, still and silent. The whirring wings of birds warned it of danger. It watched as the white mound of the toothies came under attack. The mouse had never seen birds and wraiths working in concert before. Relaxing, for these birds were insect-eaters, the mouse crept closer. It saw the mound slowly crumble, and the wraiths ram their way in. It saw wraiths fall, screaming or silent, and birds screech in pain as sharp weapons pierced their claws or fragile wings. It saw the occasional toothie gobbled up by a bird or slain by a wraith. As day turned to night the mound was reduced to a ruin, toothies fleeing, chased by birds and wraiths. The mouse cleaned its paws and scurried off, searching for food.

2 thoughts on “Writing exercise: Switching POV

  1. It looks like you also enjoyed this writing exercise. After reading your Fiction Friday story it is interesting to see the different point-of-views. Before reading the Warder’s side all of my sympathy was with the Dente Faeries, but seeing that they are motivated by protecting humans I’m a little less sure.

    The mouse was a clever addition. The mouse’s point of view really showed the horror of war from a disinterested party. The final line, “the mouse cleaned its paws and scurried off, searching for food,” made the fighting seem so pointless, such a waste.

Leave a Reply

